Whitley Hall Country House Hotel

3 star rating Elliott Lane

Sheffield South Yorkshire S35 8NR

Whitley Hall in Grenoside near Sheffield is a gorgeous Tudor mansion likely to melt everyone’s heart. Perfect for weekend retreats, foppish romantic trysts and lovers of Period dramas. Sheffield City Centre is a 20 minute drive.

Nature lovers take note of this fine-looking ivy-clad mansion in Grenoside near Sheffield. The hotel (known originally as Lander House) dates back to the late 1500s when Thomas Parker was the Lord of the Manor in Sheffield. This magnificent Grade II Listed Building was transformed into a hotel during the 1970s. Guests looking for a little tranquillity and romance will find consolation in the lush, sprawling gardens with its mighty oaks and rare and precious shrubs. Keep an eye out for the Mallards Canadian Geese, squirrels and peacocks that roam freely grounds that also includes two lakes. The 32-bedrooms rooms are decorated to the highest-standard in a gentle Retgency fashion.

Fans of Bronte and Austen novels will find the chaise lounge furniture and the rich Georgian drapes a particular delight whilst outside it’s a peculiarly Tudor affair, with views of the lakes to appreciated from the elegant Juliet balcony in the recently opened ‘Parker Wing’.

All rooms at Whitley Hall have a complimentary decanter of port and the en-suite bathroom offers free toiletries with rich, downy bathrobes also for guest use.

The hotel can be found off a few minutes off the A61 and just several minutes from the M1 and M18 motorways. The immediate area is a rural one. Greno Wood, Hague’s Wood and Wharncliffe Wood can be explored to your immediate West, whilst a series of level-footpaths can be found at the nearby Broomhead Resevoir, part of the Ewden Valley.

  • 24hr check-in
  • Business Support Services
  • Conference/meeting rooms
  • High Speed Internet
  • High Speed Wi-Fi
  • Wheelchair access/disabled access
  • Satellite/Cable TV
  • Use the button at the top of the page for more details on facilities
  • Tel. +44 (0) 1142454444

Whitley Hall Country House Hotel reviewed by

Whitley Hall Country House Hotel
prices from
£85.00
4.7 ml
30

shortlist this hotel